State Library of South Australia logo Timeline
SA Memory. South Australia past and present, for the future

Northern Territory annexed by South Australia
Title : Northern Territory annexed by South Australia Northern Territory annexed by South Australia
Add To My SA Memory
Creator : Bartholomew, John, 1831-1893
Source : Australia
Place Of Creation : London
Publisher : John Walker & Co.
Date of creation : 1890
Additional Creator : Edinburgh Geographical Institute John Walker & Co.
Format : Map
Contributor : State Library catalogue
Catalogue record
The State Library of South Australia is keen to find out more about SA Memory items. We encourage you to contact the Library if you have additional information about any of these items.
Copyright : Reproduction rights are owned by State Library of South Australia. This image may be printed or saved for research or study. Use for any other purpose requires permission from the State Library of South Australia. To request approval, complete the Permission to publish form.
Description :

Map of Australia with relief shown by hachures. Boundaries mark the Northern Territory of South Australia and South Australia as one state.

The unnamed region of New South Wales between the eastern border of Western Australia and western border of Queensland was annexed to South Australia in 1863. Western Australia's eastern border was delineated in 1829 when that colony was established. South Australia's northern border was defined in 1836 and the western border of Queensland was formalised by the early 1860s.

In 1862 John McDouall Stuart successfully crossed the continent from Adelaide in the south to the northern coast, travelling through the northern lands. The South Australian government made claim to the territory, and on 6 July 1863 the British Government issued Letters Patent annexing the Northern Territory to the southern colony.

Permanent settlement was established from 1869 at Port Darwin (several earlier British settlements in Northern Australia had been abandoned). In February 1869 Surveyor-General of South Australia, George Goyder, founded Palmerston, later known as Darwin. In the early 1870s the construction of the Overland Telegraph, following the route forged by explorer Stuart, furthered more exploration of the Territory and opened up communications between Australia and overseas. In 1911 the Northern Territory was transferred to direct control by the Commonwealth of Australia.

Period : 1852-1883
Region : Northern Territory
Further reading :

Donovan, PF. A Land Full of Possibilities: A History of South Australia's Northern Territory, St. Lucia, Qld.: University of Queensland Press, 1981

Powell, Alan. Far country: a short history of the Northern Territory, Melbourne: Melbourne University Press, 1996

Internet links :

Documenting a democracy See: Places: Northern Territory; Timeline



About SA Memory

Explore SA Memory

SA Memory Themes


My SA Memory


What's on