State Library of South Australia logo This sporting life
SA Memory. South Australia past and present, for the future

Mail Medal
Title : Mail Medal Mail Medal
Add To My SA Memory
Creator : Arthur & Son (Mount Gambier), photographer
Date of creation : 1959
Format : Photograph
Contributor : State Library of South Australia
Catalogue record
The State Library of South Australia is keen to find out more about SA Memory items. We encourage you to contact the Library if you have additional information about any of these items.
Copyright : Reproduction rights are owned by State Library of South Australia. This image may be printed or saved for research or study. Use for any other purpose requires permission from the State Library of South Australia. To request approval, complete the Permission to publish form.
Description :

The Mail Medal for the South East and Border League being awarded to John Miller of the Penola Football Club 26 September 1959. In 1964 the Penola Football Club joined the newly formed Western Border League which was a merger of the South Australian teams from the South East and Border League and Victorian teams from the Western Districts League. Since 1993 Penola has competed in the Kowree Naracoorte Tatiara Football League.

In 1933 the Sunday Mail newspaper decided to promote South Australian country football by awarding a medal to the best and fairest player in each of the country leagues.

Over the years many well known players have won the Mail Medal including some who also won the Magarey Medal for best and fairest player in the South Australian National Football League:
  • Harold 'Dribbler' Hawke, won the Magarey Medal for North Adelaide in 1937 having won the 1936 Mail Medal for Curramulka in the Yorke Valley League,
  • Ron Benton won a Magarey playing for West Adelaide in 1957 and in 1960 won the Mail Medal playing for Freeling in the Barossa and Light Association,
  • Barrie Barbary won the 1960 Magarey playing for North Adelaide and the Mail Medal in 1965 and 1966 with Kybybolite in the Kowrie-Naracoorte Football League, and
  • Ken Eustice won the 1962 Magarey Medal while at West Adelaide having won his Mail Medal in 1956 with Swan Reach in the short lived Barossa and Murray Valley Association.
Four players have won the Mail Medal seven times;
  • Bohdan Cybulka for Tailem Bend and Rambler in the River Murray League,
  • Sam Jaeschke for Taylorville/Holder in the Mid Murray League,
  • Peter Kitschke for Jamestown in the Northern Areas League, and
  • Roger Williams playing for Kingscote then Dudley United in the Kangaroo Island League.

The Mail Medal continues to be presented each year.

Coverage year : 1959
Region : South East
Further reading :
Gascoyne, John. The Mail medal 1933-2006, Thevenard, SA : J. Gascoyne, 2007
Lines, Peter. Encyclopedia of South Australian country football clubs, Cowell, SA : Peter Lines, 2008.
Internet links :



About SA Memory

Explore SA Memory

SA Memory Themes


My SA Memory


What's on