State Library of South Australia logo Foundation Documents 1800-1851
SA Memory. South Australia past and present, for the future

Rules and regulations for the disposal of public lands in His Majesty's Province of South Australia
Title : Rules and regulations for the disposal of public lands in His Majesty's Province of South Australia Rules and regulations for the disposal of public lands in His Majesty's Province of South Australia View More Images
Add To My SA Memory
Creator : South Australian Colonization Commission
Source : State Library of South Australia
Place Of Creation : London
Publisher : The Commission
Date of creation : 1835
Additional Creator : Rowland Hill
Format : Manuscript
Dimensions : 240 x 390 mm (3 pages)
Contributor : State Library of South Australia
Catalogue record
The State Library of South Australia is keen to find out more about SA Memory items. We encourage you to contact the Library if you have additional information about any of these items.
Copyright : Reproduction rights are owned by State Library of South Australia. This image may be printed or saved for research or study. Use for any other purpose requires permission from the State Library of South Australia. To request approval, complete the Permission to publish form.
Description :

South Australian Commission Land Sale Regulations 1835 (issued by the Commissioners in the United Kingdom).

Land development and settlement was the basis of the Wakefield Scheme and the reason for the establishment of South Australia, so land law and regulations governing it were fundamental to the foundation of the new Province.

These regulations, drawn up by the Commissioners, provided for surveys to be undertaken prior to sale, and maps to be made available. Land could be bought at a uniform price per acre irrespective of its quality or position, but if more than one person wanted a particular section it would be sold by auction. Leases of up to three years could be granted 'for pasturage' on unsold lands at a fixed price. The proceeds were to go to the Emigration Fund to assist 'poor persons' to come to the Province, initially as labourers or tradesman, with a view to becoming landowners themselves.

The Board of Commissioners, which had jurisdiction over land sales and migration, was established in early 1835, following the passage of the South Australia Act. Before the Province could be founded, the Act required that sales of land to the value of 35 000 had to be achieved. Another precondition was that sufficient capital had to be raised to guarantee that it would be viable and that the Government would not have to provide financial support. The Letters Patent (1836) and Order-in-Council (1836) clarified how the new Province was to be established.

Related names :

Hill, Rowland, Sir (1795-1879)

Wakefield, Edward Gibbon (1796-1862)
Kingston, George Strickland (1807-1880)
Gouger, Robert (1802-1846)
Fisher, James Hurtle, Sir (1790-1875)

Coverage year : 1835
Period : Pre-1836
Place : South Australia (via United Kingdom)
Region : Adelaide city
Further reading :

Jaensch, Dean (ed.), The Flinders History of South Australia: Political History, Wakefield Press, Adelaide, 1986

Pike, Douglas, Paradise of Dissent: South Australia 1829-1857, 2nd edn, Melbourne University Press, Melbourne, 1967

Wakefield, E. New Zealand after fifty years New York ; Melbourne : Cassell, 1889

Internet links :

South Australia Act

Letters Patent (1836)

Order-in-Council (1836)

Australian dictionary of biography online edition Edward Gibbon Wakefiled

National Archives of Australia Documenting a democracy

National Archives of Australia, Documenting a democracy South Australian Commission land Sale Regulations 1835

SA Memory, Radical dream: social reform in South Australia Foundation of the province



About SA Memory

Explore SA Memory

SA Memory Themes


My SA Memory


What's on