State Library of South Australia logo Yorke Peninsula
SA Memory. South Australia past and present, for the future

South Australia with Yorke Peninsula part surveyed
Title : South Australia with Yorke Peninsula part surveyed South Australia with Yorke Peninsula part surveyed
Add To My SA Memory
Source : Map of South Australia as divided into counties and hundreds...[map]
Place Of Creation : Ballarat [Vic.]
Publisher : Printed by Niven's Steam Lithographic Machine,
Date of creation : [1875?]
Additional Creator : Niven, F. W
Format : Map
Dimensions : 800 x 565 mm
Contributor : State Library of South Australia
Catalogue record
The State Library of South Australia is keen to find out more about SA Memory items. We encourage you to contact the Library if you have additional information about any of these items.
Copyright : Reproduction rights are owned by State Library of South Australia. This image may be printed or saved for research or study. Use for any other purpose requires permission from the State Library of South Australia. To request approval, complete the Permission to publish form.
Description :

Map of South Australia with counties and hundreds defined and named. Details include post towns, telegraph stations, main roads and railways. Lithographed by FW Niven, Ballarat, Victoria.

The map shows South Australia in the 1870s - note that the western limits of the state are not shown as little or no settlement or pastoral occupation had yet occured on the far west coast or inland from there. Yorke Peninsula is shown only partially surveyed, but is clearly identified in relation to the remainder of the colony.

Surveying on southern Yorke Peninsula began in 1869 with the Hundred of Melville, on the heel of the Peninsula. Over the next few years the surveys progressed north. Minlaton was surveyed and proclaimed in 1876: it is not shown on the map, instead Gum Flat homestead is shown. This was one of the large pastoral properties which occupied much of the southern Peninsula from the 1840s. After the Waste Lands Act of 1868-69 surveying of the southern Peninsula and elsewhere in South Australia began in response to the demand for agricultural land. The large pastoral leases were gradually resumed and surveyed into smaller blocks suitable for agricultural occupation. Similarly the Hundred of Wauraltee was proclaimed in 1874 and with its main town of Port Victoria proclaimed in 1876. Unlike Minlaton, Port Victoria is shown on the map, but as a harbour not a town. Yorke Valley homestead marks the future location of the town of Maitland.

County Daly, the northern section of the Peninsula was proclaimed in 1862, following the discovery of copper at Wallaroo and Moonta.

Coverage year : 187-?
Region : Yorke Peninsula
Further reading :

Porter, J. R. The priceless gift - an ordered land: a brief history of the early surveying of South Australia [Adelaide?: Institution of Surveyors?, 1986?]

The Measure of the land Adelaide: Department of Lands, 1986

The Wakefield companion to South Australian history editor: Wilfrid Prest Kent Town, S. Aust.: Wakefield Press, 2001 pp. 524-526 Surveys

Carmichael, Ern The ill-shaped leg: a story of the development of Yorke Peninsula [Fullarton, S. Aust.]: E.J. Carmichael, 1973

Internet links :



About SA Memory

Explore SA Memory

SA Memory Themes


My SA Memory


What's on