State Library of South Australia logoSA Memory heading
SA Memory. South Australia past and present, for the future

Greasy Pop Records

Greasy Pop Records

At this point in time the State Library of South Australia has digitised and made available from this website, audio material from one of Adelaide's best known record labels - Greasy Pop Records or GPR.

GPR was established in 1980 by Doug Thomas, who was also a musician with The Spikes and The Dagoes.

Over the label's 25 year history, including a change in ownership, GPR has represented high profile South Australian bands including Exploding White Mice, Where's the Pope, Batteries not included, the Lizard Train, Mad Turks from Istanbul, the Iron Sheiks, the Screaming Believers, Devil's Cabaret, the Undecided, Aunty Raylene, Morning Glory, the Garden Path and more recently Fear in Dakota and Bedhed.

To view the GPR artists and albums by band select from the following:

Further reading:

Kelton, Tim. Underground in the city of churches, Adelaide : WAV Publications, 1986

D.N.A, [Adelaide : Harry Butler, 1979-] music fanzine that continues to be published

Spencer, Chris. Adelaide bands, Golden Square [Vic.]: Moonlight Publishing, 1996-<1997>

Spencer, Chris. Who's who of Australian rock, Noble Park, Vic. : Five Mile Press, 2002

Day, David. SA great it's our music 1956-1986, Glandore, S. Aust. : D. Day and T. Parker, 1987

McFarlane Ian. The encyclopedia of Australian rock and pop, St Leonards, N.S.W. : Allen & Unwin, 1999

'Greasy pop the catalyst for change', The Advertiser, 2 April 1987, page A01

Sly, David. '10 years on', The Advertiser, 24 May 1990, page A01


Greasy Pop Records

NKVD records - Greasy Pop - how it all began



About SA Memory

Explore SA Memory

SA Memory Themes


My SA Memory


What's on