State Library of South Australia logo Did you know?
SA Memory. South Australia past and present, for the future

The mining area of Moonta
Title : The mining area of Moonta The mining area of Moonta
Add To My SA Memory
Date of creation : ca. 1870.
Format : Photograph
Dimensions : 100 x 155 mm
Contributor : State Library catalogue
Catalogue record
The State Library of South Australia is keen to find out more about SA Memory items. We encourage you to contact the Library if you have additional information about any of these items.
Copyright : Reproduction rights are owned by State Library of South Australia. This image may be printed or saved for research or study. Use for any other purpose requires permission from the State Library of South Australia. To request approval, complete the Permission to publish form.
Description :

The mining area of Moonta, on the Yorke Peninsula.

Copper was discovered at Moonta in 1861. Mining commenced soon after and the township of Moonta was established in 1863. The three Yorke Peninsula towns of Moonta, Kadina and Wallaroo were to become known as the 'Copper Triangle' for the richness of the mines there. By 1875 the area's population had reached 12,000; the largest settlement outside of Adelaide.

In its first year of operation the mine at Moonta produced almost 5,000 tons of copper ore and by 1876 Moonta was the first mining company in Australia to pay 1 million in dividends. Moonta Mine was closed in 1923 after a drop in copper prices in the wake of the First World War.

Period : 1852-1883
Place : Moonta
Region : Yorke Peninsula
Further reading :

Drew, GJ. Discovering historic Moonta, South Australia, [Adelaide] : Dept. of Mines and Energy and the District Council of Northern Yorke Peninsula, 1991

Gee, Lionel CE. Record of the mines of South Australia, [Adelaide, S. Aust. : South Australian Dept. of Mines, 1966]



About SA Memory

Explore SA Memory

SA Memory Themes


My SA Memory


What's on