State Library of South Australia logo SA Music
SA Memory. South Australia past and present, for the future

The Flexi Pop Show at the Burnside Ballroom
Title : The Flexi Pop Show at the Burnside Ballroom The Flexi Pop Show at the Burnside Ballroom
Add To My SA Memory
Place Of Creation : [Adelaide]
Publisher : Greasy Pop Records
Date of creation : 1982
Additional Creator : Sykes, Ken ; Goulden, Dave ; Rome, Tony ; Simpson, Geoff ; Dalby, Paul
Format : Sound recording
Contributor : State Library catalogue
Catalogue record
The State Library of South Australia is keen to find out more about SA Memory items. We encourage you to contact the Library if you have additional information about any of these items.
Copyright : The State Library has endeavoured to identify and contact copyright holders of material digitised for this website. Where the copyright owner has not been able to be traced, or where the permission is still being sought, the Library has decided in good faith to proceed with digitisation and publication. The State Library invites persons who believe they are copyright owners to contact Library staff to discuss usage of this item.
Description :


Short lived Adelaide band spanning 1980-1982 and desscibed by Spencer et al as 'post punk pop/funk/dance'. Members included Philip Bray (keyboard); Paul Dalby (guitar and voice); Michael Dalby (percussion); John Hardacker (drums); and Gary Isaacs (bass and voice).

Chequers released the song Manila on this Greasy Pop Records compilation released in 1982. They also released a cassette in 1982 titled Live.

The Pins

Burning Night

Screaming Believers

This compilation features their song I guess I'm going.

Greasy Pop boss Doug Thomas referred to The Screaming Believers as 'the best band this town has ever seen' (Kelton, p. 63)

Formed in 1981 and ended in 1992. McFarlane describes their songs as 'brimming with refined songs and highly proficient, melodic guitar thrash'.

The line up included Ken Sykes (guitar, vocals), Graeme Burdett (guitar) (1982-1985), replaced by John Cavuoto, formerly of The Innocents, (1985-1992), Rees Hughes (bass) (1982-1985) replaced by Cloudy Kattern (1985-1988), Craig Rodda (drums), Paul Hughes (vocals, saxophone) and Jodie Peterson (bass) (1988-1991) .

Their first album with Greasy Pop was Communist mutants from space which won praise for the Screaming Believers. A distribution deal with Big Time Records resulted in 50,000 copies being pressed for sale in the USA. Their second Greasy Pop album, Refugees from the Love Generation in 1987 gained the band European attention and a recording contract was offered in 1989 by Megadisc for 3 albums. McFarlane suggests it is 'a great shame that they failed to attract a wider audience'.

Cavuoto went on to play with The Ninth Wave and Vegans in Leather, Burdett to the Garden Path and Rodda played with the Ists, Double Wammy, The Crackling Static Fuzz and Vic Conrad and the First Third amongst others.

The band has reformed for a number of shows since their 'official' break up.

Their discography includes:
Show me your money - EP (tracks: Surfs up with the Ayatollah, Can't let you go home, Little girl in red, Don't talk of love) (Empty Dogma Records 1981) recorded live at the Union Hotel.
My eyes - single (b-side Unprofessional) (GPR 1984)
I want to have you - split single with Within an inch by Fools Apart (GPR 1984)
Communist mutants from space - album (GPR 1985)
Sandra - single (b-side Is Vic There?) (GPR 1987)
Refugees from another love generation - album (GPR 1987)
I guess I'm going on The Flexi Pop Show at the Burnside Ballroom (GPR 1982)
Unprofessional on A Greasy collection (GPR 1985)
The man heaven defended on Songs from the back room (Round Records 2000)

The Dagoes

This compilation features their song I do it for mama.

Described as an 'intense rock band' (Spencer, p9) they were active from 1978 to 1984 and was the catalyst in 1979 for Doug Thomas to create Greasy Pop Records.

Their 1980 single release We sell soul was their first recording.

Over the band's history there were a few membership shuffles which saw people such as Ian List join the band. However the members considered core to the group include Doug Thomas (guitars), Richard Cant (aka Tony Rome) (vocals), Tony Rome (aka Neil Perryman) (guitars) and Johnny Tomato (aka Bodhan [Kostyn]) (keyboards).

Discography : the first recording of The Dagoes was a single released in 1980 We sell soul; a track titled Kid's got style on 5MMM's compilation album of Adelaide bands 1980; Greasy Pop 1982 single release Daunting (b side Blood on my face); the release of a double single It's you in 1981; single Ten years on released by NSW Phantom label in 1981; inclusion of I do it for mama on the 1982 Greasy Pop EP The Flexi Pop Show at the Burnside Ballroom"; inclusion of Vatican stomp on the 1985 Greasy Pop compilation album A greasy selection, 1984 single released by Greasy Pop Hey man (b side Heart beat); the 1990 anniversary single released by Greasy Pop Vatican stomp (b side I can do what I want to do); the album released by Ian List in 1994 titled Supreme.

Listen :
Coverage year : 1982
Period : 1980-2000
Further reading :
Spencer, Chris. Who's who of Australian rock, Noble Park, Vic. : Five Mile Press, 2002

Spencer, Chris. Adelaide bands, Golden Square [Vic.]: Moonlight Publishing, 1996-<1997>

Spencer, Chris. Who's who of Australian rock, Noble Park, Vic. : Five Mile Press, 2002

Day, David. SA great it's our music 1956-1986, Glandore, S. Aust. : D. Day and T. Parker, 1987



About SA Memory

Explore SA Memory

SA Memory Themes


My SA Memory


What's on