State Library of South Australia logo SA Music
SA Memory. South Australia past and present, for the future

Sea of art [sound recording] / Primitive Painters
Title : Sea of art [sound recording] / Primitive Painters Sea of art [sound recording] / Primitive Painters View More Images
Add To My SA Memory
Creator : Primitive Painters (Musical group)
Place Of Creation : [Adelaide]
Publisher : Greasy Record Company
Date of creation : 1990
Additional Creator : Tyler, Rodney Norris, David
Format : Sound recording
Contributor : State Library of South Australia
Catalogue record
The State Library of South Australia is keen to find out more about SA Memory items. We encourage you to contact the Library if you have additional information about any of these items.
Copyright : The State Library has endeavoured to identify and contact copyright holders of material digitised for this website. Where the copyright owner has not been able to be traced, or where the permission is still being sought, the Library has decided in good faith to proceed with digitisation and publication. The State Library invites persons who believe they are copyright owners to contact Library staff to discuss usage of this item.
Description :
Formed in late 1982 by Rodney Tyler, David Norris and Greg Vincent, their original music was influenced largely by British 1960s groups such as The Who and The Kinks.

They produced one album The Sea of Art which released on cassette, vinyl and CD by the Greasy Record Company in 1990. They also released a single in 1990 The Bismark Girls under the Greasy Record label.

A Primitive Painters song Undertow appears on the Greasy Pop compilation album An oasis in a desert of noise released in 1985.

The line up for the Primitive Painters includes: Rodney Tyler (guitar, voice 1983-91), Colin Finlay (guitar, voice 1985-1987), Peter Long (guitar voice 1987-91), David Norris (bass, voice 1983-91), Andrew Przygonski (drums 1986-91), Mark Shepherd (drums 1984-1986), Greg Vincent (bass, voice 1983-1985, 1987)

Listen :
Related names :

Tyler, Rodney
Norris, David
Greasy Record Company

Coverage year : 1990
Period : 1980-2000
Further reading :
Kelton, Tim. Underground in the city of churches, Adelaide : WAV Publications, 1986

Spencer, Chris. Adelaide bands, Golden Square [Vic.]: Moonlight Publishing, 1996-<1997>

Spencer, Chris. Who's who of Australian rock, Noble Park, Vic. : Five Mile Press, 2002

Day, David. SA great it's our music 1956-1986, Glandore, S. Aust. : D. Day and T. Parker, 1987

McFarlane, Ian. The encyclopedia of Australian rock and pop, St Leonards, N.S.W. : Allen & Unwin, 1999



About SA Memory

Explore SA Memory

SA Memory Themes


My SA Memory


What's on